Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

Many individuals assume that determinate sentencing for every type of offences is adequate measure. While others are sure that, it is impractical and has many drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss negative and positive sides of the argument.

On the one side, a jail term that cannot be changed allows for fair punishment to criminals. It means that convinced criminals would have similar sentences for similar crimes and whether the judge likes the guilty criminal or not, jail time will not depend on the personal preference of the judge. In addition, those who committed a major crime such as murder, torture, kid-napping and felony will not be able to leave a prison prior due date and will be incarcerated till the end of fixed sentence. Thus, victims of these offenders will be able to sleep peacefully being aware that guilty criminals will be punished accordingly.

On the other side, there are negative consequences of determinate sentencing especially if juvenile crime is involved. First, a judge will have less discretion and not be able to take into account mitigating or aggravating circumstances, criminal history, age of an offender, etc. Thus adolescent criminals will be sentenced as same as hard-core offenders. It cannot be viewed as acceptable because criminals are imprisoned not only for them to pay for the crimes they have committed but also to be rehabilitated. In addition, fixed sentences means that the prisoners will stay in jail until the end and it may lead to overcrowded prisons and as a result an increased taxation on their content.

In conclusion, determinate sentencing has merits as well as demerits. However, I think it should be applied only for those offenders who committed a major crime because in this case the measure can be consider as adequate.