Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their own countries What are the reasons What are the solutions to change negative attitudes

Although international tourism is the booming industry worldwide and it provides lots of economic thrust to the host country, may people think is detrimental to the host nation. The reason or ill-effect of the international tourism are mentioned below.

The proponents of international tourism believes that foreigner have different culture and traditional belief. So during stay or visit by expats, local people feels that culture and folklore are not followed and foreigner impose their culture in day to day activities and its threat to nation whose is culturally rich. Many countries like India , Pakistan, Arebian are more traditional and they have immense respect for their culture. For this reason, they expect tourist to follow it and any violation lead to conflicts. To illustrate, recently in Mumbai, two female tourists were not allowed in the temple because they were not wearing traditional attire. It is also believed that over international tourism put strain on the natural resources of that country and creates other issues like pollution, congestion and other socio-economical imbalance. To counter this, many countries like Bhutan has imposed higher visa fees.

Supporter of the international tourism feels that, tourism industry boosts economy of the country which is not industrialize or government do not want more industrialization due to many reason such as pollution. Consequently, better employment for the locals in service sector reduced jobless claim and crime rates in country. This also helps government to focus more on state of art infrastructure which is backbone of any developed or progressing country. It is imperative for the government for government to set up tourism offices which provide details about the culture and tradition and do and don’ts list to avoid any culture conflicts. As the same time tourists are equally responsible to know and understand culture of Visiting County to adjust them during the stay. Many countries in Europe and other part of the world have promoted tourism to boost the economy.

So in my opinion, International tourism is good for the country if the government designs and promulgates policy which are beneficial to the economy of the country and helps country to develop better infrastructure which enhances the recognition of the country on socio-economic parameters across the globe.