Many people believe that social networking sites have had had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society To what extent do you agree

Undoubtedly, the use of social media has been increasing tremendously for last few years. A part of society thinks that these social networking sites, for example, Facebook, have had influenced people and community in a negative way. I entirely agree with this notion because it has detrimental effects on one's personality and mental health and the societies lack empathy owing to its excessive use.

Presently, most of adults are seen busy with their mobile phones and computers using the social sites online, communicating with people who are entirely unknown to them. Since most of the times they have not met them in person, the chances of getting cheated are high. For instance, a news caught huge atttention few months ago of a girl who was decieived by her so-called friend on Facebook who cleverly took the information regarding her bank accounts and withdrew all the money. People had witnessed such incidents in the past too therefore, its not wise to blindly trust someone whom you do not know.

In addition to this, spending increased time in front of screens has increased the incidence of both mental and physical ailments. Individuals are being seen by physicians having eye problems and psychological issues due to depending on their friends of social media who are not there in person to console them when they are in distress. The number of people having mental issues has been rising alarmingly for past few years.

Furthermore, the communities are also not safe from this. Since adults do not give enough time to their family members and neighbours, they lack the emotional bond which exists between loved ones. A society who has no empathy towards others cannot flourish.Hence, the whole community is affected by such an attituude of individuals. For example, a survey told that most people make friends online rather than seeing thier neighbours or relatives because they find using the internet more fascinating. Therefore, it is obvious that such a society whose citizens are not available for each other to celebrate the happiness or mourn over the loss of someone cannot prosper.

To conclude, social networking sites have negative impact on both people and community because it has made them emotionally far away from each other and increased the pace of mental illnesses.