Many people expect that the proportion of old people will be more than the young people in the future. Do you think it is positive or negative development?

In many developed countries, the high percent of old people is becoming a big problem for the economic development. Although Vietnam still have a gold labour force, but I believe that in the near future, when the proportion of old generation will be bigger than the young one, there will be negative effection on the our country. On the following paragraphs, I shall put forth my arguments to support my point of view.

Firstly, the income of working people is not enough to cover all of an expense of the big family. Nowadays, in many families, only few persons have to be the breadwinners of their relatives, they need to find enough capital to have a fully life. Especially in the metropolis like Ho Chi Minh City, the husbands and the wifes need to work for many jobs in order to give their children and their parents an ability to access to top-norch infrastructures such as high-quality hospitals, high-ranked schools, etc.

Secondly, after long working-lifes, the retired people do not have enough pension to cover their life. With their limited budget, they cannot pay everything by their own, and have to call for help from their children. As a solution, today, many old people choose to go to the countryside, where is tranquil area and has a slow life. And the most important point is, at that place, the retired people have many chances to buy good with price which is cheap as chips.

In conclusion, I worry a lot about the increase of the percent of the old people in our life. The reasons are because the young people do not have enough resouces to cover for their older ones, and the pensions of their parents are not enough to take care by themselves as well.