Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What do you think is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently in numerous nations, shopping has become a popular free-time activity for youths. This is due to the problem of peer pressure among them. Although their savings culture is breaking, there are ways that this development is favouring the nation, so it is being considered as good.

Shopping rate has been increasing among young adults because it boosts their ego. Owing to the fact that youths often pressurize each other with fashionable wears and electronic gadgets that they purchase at stores, they always get influenced, and therefore, compete. For example, most youths imitate online friends and followers who post their new iPhones or fabrics that was purchased at ShopRite mall. Greatly enticed they will be. So, although these items may not be necessary, shopping will be done to compete and to seem relevant.

Fortunately however, the rising shopping behaviour among young generation is beneficial to the nation. Compared to the past, money is now neither hoarded at home nor fixed in term deposit accounts where it may be redundant. Instead, it is being spent. More specifically, the Financial Times newspaper recently reported that over 500 million naira was spent more in 2018 than in 2017. With this increased financial record, not only will money circulate in the country, but also, businesses will grow, even though youths' savings habit will break.

In conclusion, shopping is now the preferred leisure activity among youths, but this is only largely due to competition. As a result, money flow is more consistent than ever, and business is booming. I, therefore, think that shopping is good and should be encouraged.