many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system.

what are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishments.

It has been argued that setting a predefined set of punishments for all the criminal activities would help justice system to deal with criminals in a better way. However, this trend would have its own pros and cons. In this essay I will discuss the advantages such as fast judgements and disadvantage like increased crime rate.

The major advantage of this judicial system will be prompt and quick announcements of punishments. As in most of the countries around the world, the judicial system is so slow like any criminal case is pending for many years. For an instance ‘Nirbhaya rape case’ of India was the most heinous crime noted there, it had been into trials from last seven years. Still the culprits are alive while the victim lost her life after struggling for ten days.

Another major advantage of this fixed punishment system would be that there would be no biasing. Nowadays, it is very common to see that spectrum of punishment is completely different for a powerful person as compared to a general public. For an instance A very famous Bollywood star was found guilty for hunting deer and rash driving leading to death of four poor laborers. But his power in terms of money, popularity made him free of guilty and no punishment was announced against him. If the same crime was commited by a common man, he would be behind the bars long time ago.

However, this trend of fixed punishments also has some negative aspects. The primary drawback of this system would be avoiding the circumstances. For example, if the crime has been committed under pressure, unintentionally or in a planned way, all these things not considered could encourage criminals as they knew that punishment will be same and fixed.

In conclusion, having a fixed punishment for all sorts of crimes will definitely benefit the judicial system in a way of quick response and unbiased judgements. On the other hand, may provoke criminals and may increase the rate of crime.