Many people support the use of animals for testing medicines for humans. Others believe it isn’t appropriate to use animals for such experiments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many researchers and scientists adopt experimental procedures that involve subjecting animals to some human-like diseases before injecting them with some chemicals in order to determine the effectiveness of new medicines while observing possible side effects as well. They claim that they must do this to assess the risks that might arise when using these medicines later to treat humans. However, this is not a straightforward issue, as many debates are taking place between promoters and opponents of the idea of using animals in such painful tests. I tend to side with the proponents of using animals for testing new treatments. This essay will discuss both points of view and elucidate some examples that prove each one of them.

On the one hand, people who are concerned with animal rights have been repeatedly decrying all acts that involve using animals for testing. They claim that it is extremely cruel to subject such weak creatures to chemicals that might make them just writhe in agony to death for nothing wrong they had committed. To illustrate, a French laboratory, who had invented a new medicine for pneumonia, previously announced that the research team had consumed more than one thousand rats and monkeys during the testing phase of the new drug. For this reason, some people denounce all acts of using animals for testing new drugs.

On the other hand, well known research institutes assure that they do not have any safer way to reduce the risks of using new medicines directly on humans, other than observing the effect of these drugs on animals before inaugurating them to public use. Nevertheless, specialists state that the life of one rat or monkey can save thousands of human lives who might encounter very dangerous symptoms or residual effects as a result of consuming drugs with untested components. For example, one of the sought after treatments for a serious disease has recently failed to treat the symptoms and even yielded in the death of some of the animals that were tested. That drug would have caused many fatalities if it had been used to treat humans before being tested with animals. For this reason, I believe that using animals for treatment is very crucial to mitigate the risk of harming human patients.

To conclude, not all people approve the usage of animals for testing new drugs. While some people consider it a shame, others consider it inevitable.This essay discussed both views and concluded that testing new medicines on animals ,albeit being cruel and painful, can save the human race.