One of the major problems that faces today’s governments is creating enough satisfactory housing for their increasing populations whilst still trying to protect the environment.

Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

With the growing population of societies, governments struggle to provide the essential needs for their people. Among these primary needs, housing stands as the most challenging one. This is due to the fact that the decision-makers need to consider many environmental issues that emerge from building more houses. However, I believe that constructing more residential buildings is no more a problem since the modern design and construction methods have achieved a great progress in the field of saving the nature.

To begin with, the root of the problem might be that most of the building materials are manufactured by conventional ways that are likely to damage the eco-system. For example, concrete plants are known to be producing a huge amount of chemical wastes that could have a detrimental effect on the surrounding habitat. Another possible cause of the problem might be the amount of energy consumed by the construction of houses. To illustrate, heavy machinery used in construction like cranes and excavators can burn up to one hundred gallons of fossil fuel every eight hours of operation. The aforementioned examples show the severe effect of building houses.

However, I am convinced that constructing new housing units to face the increasing population is not exacerbating the environmental problems as before. Whilst the environmentalists are pressing the governments to stop building more houses, scientists and engineers have developped many novel technologies that are sustainable and enovironment-friendly. For instance, alternative building materials have been inaugurated and equipment that use solar power instead of fuel have been invented. As a result, if the state forces using these materials and equipment, the environmental imact of constructing new apartments can be significantly mitigated.

To conclude, despite being known as an environment-damaging process, constructing new houses is not as harmful to the nature as before. Due to the modern sustainable building technologies, governments can satisfy the needs of the people for houses while saving the environmet as well.