Many people think that public celebration (like national holidays, festivals etc.) are a waste of money and that the government should spend those funds in a better way. Do you agree or disagree.

It is thought by some people that money allocated for commemoration of important events such as national holidays and festivals is misspent and governments should invest that money on profitable issues. I completely disagree with this point of view.

National holidays are signs of culture and civilization in each country and reflect their beliefs and ideas. These events create a livelihood environment and attract lots of tourists which could be a source of income for the local people. In addition, occasions like festivals bring people together no matter what is their religion or race. Even they put aside their conflicts and cooperate for one goal which is showing best of them to the public. So not only budget spend on public celebration is not wasted but also it can provide opportunities to make it double. For example, Iranian people celebrate last Wednesday of the year all over the country which is involved jumping over the fire and make best wishes for each other. They believe fire could take sickness and bring health to people around it.

I also disagree with the idea that the amount of money government has allocated to public events should be consumed for other issues. Most of public holidays are national heritage of our ancestors and keeping them alive and also delivering to next generation are government’s obligation. They should teach people how to value them instead of thinking to abolishing them because next generation need them for showing their culture, identity and feeling proud in front of other nationalities.

In conclusion, although expenses of public holidays seems inconvenient for some, we should look beneath the surface and consider all aspects of them and try to make the most of the chances they could bring for the society.