Many people today put personal information online for the needs of daily lives (e.g., shopping, banking, and social network). Is it a positive or negative development?

In this digital era, more and more people use online websites for different purposes by putting their personal information there. It could have some good and negative points but I would consider it as a positive development.

Undoubtly, it provides convenience to the user. Like, many people have busy schedules and get very less or no time for offline shopping whereas online shopping stores provides them a vide range of products, which may be bought anytime and anywhere with just a click on purchase option. Secondly, by using banking sites, one may improve the performance of the banking transactions. Many financial transactions may be made withen minutes without visiting bank branches with minimum or no error. Furthermore, online platforms may be like a bridge between employers and employees throughout the world. By uploading curiculum vitals on job portals, potential employers can reach the best employees or vise a versa, without visiting the company in person, and organisatons may match their job requirements with job seeker's profile.

However, hackers may hack anybody's account on websites and may steal the person's personal information, which may be used for wrong or dangerous purposes. For example, a survey was conducted by cyber crime cell and it was found out that thousands of people have hunt by cybercriminals, whose money was stolen, in recent years. So,governments and websites developers have designed many artificial intelligent tools to curb this situation as much as possible. Despite having risk involved in using online facilities, one cannot deny its huge amount of benefits.

In conclusion, although it may be risky to upload personal details on the Internet, it has enormous advantages to the users, which may be more than its drawbacks, which may be kept minimal with more attentiveness.