Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Being balancing work life with personally available time leads to create more joy, happiness and healthy life style. The proportion of time that people allow for fun activities from their personal time has dramatically reduced whereas allocation time for duties and responsibilities which are related to their work life has increased significantly. This essay will argue that the drawback of this outweigh advantages and will demonstrate higher earnings as a primary benefit and lose of happiest moments as a major impact.

Working long hours generate significant amount of benefits to a person. Generally, a person who dedicates more hours on his/her work life, for instance, work beyond their normal statutory hours, entitles to receive over time payment apart from their regular remuneration; therefore he/she earns more money; they could be able to fulfill their family commitments more comfortably; and they can enjoy better life style.

Despite higher level of income, overtime work associates several drawbacks as well. With the tremendous pressure on daily routine, people do not pay much attention to daily exercises. But, if those people would be able to allocate adequate time for leisure activities such as cycling, walking or outdoor sports from their daily time are sure to cover some part of their daily requirement. If working people do not have an intention to dedicate time for those fun activities will be ended up with complicated health issues in their later ages due to high level of stress and lack of exercises.

Most of fun or leisure activities involve family gatherings which enable people to enjoy their lives. If a person decides to work long hours, sometimes even during week-ends, could not be able to participate those funny events. Undoubtedly, those parents lose their interactions with their children and might regret themselves at some point of their life.

In conclusion, certainly, I believe that fun or leisure activities plays a vital role on most of our lives and, in fact, people should be able balance their work life by allocation sufficient time for those activities as well. Therefore, I feel that disadvantages by working long hours outweigh advantages of it.