For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary.

To what extent do you think this is a negative trend?

Shopping malls, these days, are considered major recreational spots by many but people mostly visited them for necessity in the past. This new trend has many negative impacts on youngsters and the society as a whole. This essay will argue why it is completely unnecessary for people to spend their free time in the marketplace and purchase things that they do not need at all.

To begin with, modern shopping complexes offer many amenities besides products and shoppers tend to enjoy roaming around different markets and purchase whatever they like.

For instance, after the end of a semester, students prefer to meet up in a shopping mall, watch a movie and later have snacks in the food court. They say this reduces the stress of the exams and make them relaxed. Besides, with the reduction of open places and parks, many families gather at a large shopping mall to enjoy their holidays. However, this is a negative trend and has health hazards.

As a consequence, the young generation tends to forget the beauty of nature and the stress relief provided by the outdoor world. This, in fact, drains out the energy of the youth and makes them lethargic. For example, a walk in a park or a day in a beach refreshes the soul more evidently than a day in a mall. Due to the excessive affection towards shopping, many people become shopaholics and get into debt.

To conclude, this essay argued why it is completely inappropriate for citizens to spend their free time in shopping malls. In my opinion, people should not rely on shopping malls to spend their free time and must enjoy their free time in a much energetic and enthusiastic way and thereby creating a better society.