For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary.

To what extent do you think this is a negative trend?

Introduction of shopping plazas to every nook and corner of the country, especially in cities, has inspired many to enjoy their spare time with friends, do shopping and have meals there. Shopping for people's basic need seems like an old trend. This changing drift is likely to accentuate in the coming decades. I believe this trend has an adverse effect on the young generation and frequent shoppers.

Modern shopping centres play a quintessential part by offering various products under a single roof ranging from smallest to largest and smartest equipment and gadgets, costumes, ornaments, all types of fruits, vegetables, beauty products, kitchen appliances and so on. Besides, these shopping complexes have movie theatres, coffee shops, kid's corner and food court to attract more people to spend their free time. However, people knowingly and unknowingly are becoming shopaholic, consuming junk food and spending unproductive time. This has a detrimental effect on people, particularly on the young minds. They often skip their classes to meet friends at a shopping mall, have aerated drinks, eat junk foods and avoid outdoor activities.

Furthermore, people's urge to purchase things they do not need creates a monetary asymmetry and put them in debts. When parents should take their children to a park or to a museum, they are actually taking them to a shopping mall and feeding them fast food. This will foster a disaster in terms of our future generation's health and education.

To conclude, I believe that killing a great deal of time in shopping centres will become a stagnated issue in the future. I strongly feel that shopping malls should be used as a place for purchasing essential commodities rather than a place for leisure activity or a recreational area.