Many small town center shops are running out of business because rural residents tend to go shopping in big cities store. To what extent do the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages?

It is generally known that the countryside dwellers opt for shopping in metropolis rather than shopping in nearby stores. Although this trend might have some benefits, I believe its drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, the advantages of shopping in the city are variable. First, regarding clients, shopping for specific items, wedding dresses for example, in big malls can offer them versatility in both brands and prices, owing to the competition between vast numbers of shops. As for the sellers, the greater the number of customers, the greater the profit the shops will gain, and this profit can contribute to a lot of payments such as taxes and employee’s fees.

On the other hand, I suppose the disadvantages of this development would eclipse the mentioned advantages. To begin with, the decrease in the number of people shopping from town may develop long recession periods for small businesses which can lead to the closure of these shops, consequently, a lot of employees may lose their jobs. In 2017, a study by the ministry of labour in Egypt showed that the rate of unemployment in the countryside has sharply increased by 22% due to the bankruptcy of many small shops. Furthermore, the only way to access to big cities is to use different transportation means, which can eventually raise the levels of pollution and fuel consumption.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that the demerits of preferring the countryside residents to shop away from their homes in terms of pollution, bankruptcy and unemployment are more notable than the merits.