Many students take part-time jobs while studying in university. Do you think it is a good idea or bad idea?

It is irrefutable that the cost of tertiary education has become very high and students have to work part time to fund their education. This situation has both positive and negative effects. In the following paragraphs, I shall discuss the issue in depth.

There are many reasons why working part-time is beneficial while studying in university. Firstly, higher education is very costly and students need to do part time work to fund their education. Secondly, the habit of working hard right from early years makes students realise the dignity of labour and they are better placed in life later on.

What is more, students do not indulge in any violence and crime and drugs. This is because they don’t have time for such activities. This also instils some discipline in their lives because they have to manage time effectively so that their studies don’t suffer.

Finally, while doing these jobs, they develop a network of friends doing different courses and from diverse backgrounds.

It is a negative development because it leads to stress and strain. Sometimes, students cannot strike a balance between work and study, which may result in stress.

Consequently, when students face failures or can’t cope with the pressures they can have suicidal tendencies.

On balance, I believe that being pushed to hard work is a positive development. However, there should be a limit to the number of hours students are allowed part time work, otherwise studies will suffer.