Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development ?

It was one beautiful Saturday morning , when I was suddenly woken from my sleep by a loud music and when I drew the curtain to ascertain the cause of the noise, behold, filling the street in front of my house was a resplendent and colourful train, stretching over 200 metres.Making further enquiry, I got to know that the train was that of the wedding of our city mayor’s only daughter. This kind of scene has become common in recent times and the question any reasonable person would ask is, why do people now have more expensive marriages compared to the past?

One obvious reason for this is the consciousness about image, which has become rather prevalent due to the popularity of the social media. Whoever wants to get married nowadays would first of all, consciously and unconsciously think about the kind of image he wants to create in the minds of friends and relatives. This is the reason for expensive and elaborate pre-wedding photo-shoots, taken at exotic locations all over the world before the real wedding itself. The culmination of the whole exercise is the spreading of these pictures on Facebook and Instagram pages, followed by ‘likes’of friends.Everybody wants the recognition and acceptance of friends and for a couple about to marry, a wedding ceremony provides the opportunity.

Another reason for the extravagance associated with weddings nowadays is the memory it leaves for the couple. Really ,the realization that a wedding is the only occasion in anybody’s life when he or should would be in charge gives people the impetus to make it truly memorable. Many always argue that when a child is born, the parents are in charge and for a burial ceremony the principal is not conscious, so the only occasion when one is really aware is the wedding, so they do not spare any expense to make it really colourful and grand.

Whether it is a good development depends on the individual, as I do not personally have anything against it,especially if the couple can afford it. For a couple that have planned it, by setting some money aside, then they are free to spend their money whichever way they like. The only side I don’t support is that of a couple that are not financially stable and have decided to borrow to finance their marriage. Such an action is irresponsible and nonsensical.

Having a grand wedding is a good thing, but should not be held to impress others or at the expense of one’s financial state. The joy that radiates on the faces of most couples speaks volume of the happiness of the occasion. It is a celebration of life and should be celebrated as such.