Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people are spending more money on extravagant weddings than the older days. Comparison with others, and inspiration from the celebrities are the main root causes for this phenomenon. Expensive marriages have negative impact on the society. Individuals are in debts, along with that, it also leads to stressful life.

There are some unfavourable factors that result into luxurious marriage. First of all, most of the people are working, and after looking at their colleagues’ opulent ceremonies they start comparing with them, and they want to show-off that their big day could be more lavish. In this way, they could present about their superiority. Next, today, young couples are more inspired by celebrity’s nuptial ceremony. They are following them on social media, so that they can replicate their wedding like them. As a result, they will be satisfied that they are following footsteps of well-known personalities. In a report of ‘The Times of India’, it was demonstrated with statistics that individuals are spending a lot on destination weddings because they are influenced by famous people.

The trend of affluent marriages is negative, and it has detrimental effect on society. People are in debts because they do not have enough funds to spend on these occasions. Nevertheless, they are crossing their limits, and taking help of loans for magnificent wedding rituals. Another impact is stressful life. Groom and brides want to portray that their wedding is planned splendidly, and there are no loopholes. Therefore, they are spending sleepless nights, similarly, they are always in the pressure to prove it. In a survey conducted, it evidently proved that newly-wed are in tension, because they want to show that their wedding is upscale.

In conclusion, men and women are motivated with stars, along with that they are always comparing to depict classy wedding. However, these cases have unfriendly impacts like stressful life, and owing money.