In many countries weddings are becoming bigger than the past? Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is often observed that some auspicious occasions like marriage are more expensive and extravagant. The basic driving forces for this case are many from the casual needs of arrangements to the hypocrisy in society. A marriage is a pure union of two souls, that should not be diminished under the monetary values, hence I believe it is a negative progression.

To commence with, from antiquity the splendorous weddings are made to mark a perpetual impact on others, in addition, it also depicts the status of families in society. Moreover, the new trends following like destination weddings like completing the ceremony in a separate place, which demands a high amount. In a recent piece of article from prominent "The Times", mentioned that around sixty percent of expenses are done from brides side in India is done under the pressure of grooms family. Certainly, the Orthodox tradition of dowry system makes impossible to bear the expenses of a simple ritual.

To emphasize my view, forced monetary demand on the wedding from the groom's side is a social stigma, and it never provides the surety of a successful after marriage life. Nevertheless, the money spent for a short term, just one day pleasure and celebration which is not worthy, this amount could be spent for the future purpose to add on the assets for new couple convenience. According to an empirical survey conducted by London's "Oxford University", which ascertained that around seventy percent of loans from banks are given for the fulfillment of the wedding ceremony. Consequently, the condition leads to stress and anxiety among the parents, that ultimately could end as any detrimental health situation.

To conclude, the expense done just for the one-day celebration of a wedding is insane, it is not an investment and certainly an unwittingly decision. The adverse effects of this absurd practice can lead to the loss of money as well as personal relaxation.Just to make one day special, people ignore the future negative aspects and impacts of it.