Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a negative or positive development?

Modern times have shown popularity for larger scale weddings, incurring high costs compared to weddings organised in the past. The reasons for this trend will be analysed as well as why it can be seen as harmful to society.

One of the main reasons for spending money on such extravagant weddings is that people have more expendable income than those from previous generations. Particularly in developed countries, the standard of living has increased exponentially, allowing couples to create a memorable and special wedding day. Since this has become the norm, the expectation from family and friends brings a lot of pressure to impress their guests to share this special event in their lives. With additional external factors from society and within the media, it has further influenced people’s perception of how a wedding should be conducted. Ideas of fairytale style weddings from the press such as celebrity weddings, heighten our sensation and lust for mind-blowing weddings. It can be incredibly satisfying for couples to imitate such lavishness as a mark of social status, wealth and importance.

However, such an investment into weddings can pose detrimental effects for young married couples. It is common for financial problems to occur such as debts and unable to repay a mortgage for a new home. Many couples who are not usually wealthy, may borrow large sums of money to fund their wedding but find that they are unable to repay. Situations could change, such as redundancy or an unexpected pregnancy which could cause marriages to fail. Expenses such as childcare, education and paying bills would be an obstacle for many couples. Furthermore, a wedding only lasts for a day or so compared to a lifetime of money troubles. In the process, the wedding could lose its true importance and meaning which is to unite two people in love, and instead become obsessed with the vanity of the occasion.

In conclusion, the increment in people’s wealth as well as the need to impress others may be the cause of expensive weddings. However, it does not come without the price of financial worries for the future.