Some people feel that global warming should be dealt with by governments. Others feel that it is the responsibility of individuals in society to solve the problem. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Global warming is a moot topic of discussion in today’s era. Over the past few years, there has been a gradual increase in the temperature of the earth’s surface. In order to combat this issue, some people believe that members of society should take some measures whereas, a couple others and I feel that higher authorities should be accountable to handle this grave situation.

On the one hand, proponents of the former view believe that the global warming is the impact of human behaviour, and, therefore, it is their own responsibility to take certain initiatives collectively to solve the issue by choosing to Place limits on the amount of carbon that pollutes the air is allowed to emit. For instance, Increase vehicle fuel efficiency and also further support other solutions like electric cars and hybrid vehicles which cut down the carbon di oxide emissions to the level of zero percent. Of late such cars are becoming highly popular among environment friendly people across Japan and even Germany. Such practices have a prolonged positive effect upon the environment which implies that people should take the responsibility to handle this situation prudently.

On the other hand, many others and I certainly concur that the governments have the power to implement legislation that compels individuals and industries to act cautiously, and adhere to strict environmental protection standards. For instance, Norway just became the first country in the world to ban deforestation, a ground-breaking move that could have a major global impact. By committing to zero deforestation, this means Norwegian lawmakers will not award any government contracts to companies that take part in clear-cutting of trees. As deforestation leads to climate change due to the decreasing number of trees available to capture increasing carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere. Furthermore, it is the government’s responsibility to stand up to face the battles their people are fighting and by taking necessary actions, governments can make a radical difference to lead a fight against the global warming.

To conclude, although individuals’ little efforts to deal with the climate change can have a long term effect, governments, being leaders, have a major responsibility to take the situation under control by enforcing laws on the people to live a hassle free life.