Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a negative or positive development?

Marriage had been a sacred Institution. However, of late it is being made a larger than life affair, that too on a grander scale. I personally believe that it’s a harmful development for the entire humanity. This essay would analyse, as to why marriages held on such lavish scales would rake a havoc on the society?

The most compelling reason behind marriages becoming such expensive affairs is that everyone loves to flaunt their wealth, their power and their status. Since the affluent begin the trend and the poor gullible simply emulate their celebrations on account of illiteracy. Take for example, Laxmi Narayan Mittal, the richest Indian steel magnate settle in the UK. He had an opulent wedding ceremony for his daughter held at the grandest locations with an array of celebrity guest lasting for weeks, moreover the expenditure of this kind of wedding amounted to a whopping amount of a couple of 100 crores. Yet, the saddest part of this fairy tale wedding was that this marriage also ended up in a divorce in a short span of four months. This kind short-lived happiness does not justify the purpose of behind it.

Now, to further commence with my belief, which states such kinds of marriages full of grandiose are way too detrimental for the entire society, as these kind of grand marriages are highly responsible for corrupting the Indian poor as well as middle class people who get influenced by the glamour and the hype created by such weddings and thus, the poor daughter’s parents are forced to cough up that kind of money to get their daughters married to a decent guy. In order to illustrate, even today so many Indian farmers, are forced to spend their entire lives clearing heavy marriage debts, and when they are unable to clear their loans they end up committing suicide trying to meet the demands of the groom’s side to hold a couple of functions, to gift expensive jewelry as well as even sizable amount of cash. This is a highly wrong precedent started by the rich people who believe spending in giving big parties and sending big money can guarantee happiness, which is certainly not the fact.

To sum up, I firmly uphold my stance against wasteful spending in any kind of marriage. As these kind of a plush marriage does not guarantee success and furthermore, it creates a lot of disparity and a feeling of spite among the poor for the rich.