Some people believe that to reduce the amount of time people spend commuting (travelling to work), parks and gardens close to city centres should be replaced by apartment buildings for commuters to live in. However, others disagree with this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Housing complexes are a prime necessity in most of the cities. The people living far away from work areas spend a lot of time commuting to work. Some say that parks and gardens close to the heart of cities should be replaced with apartment buildings so that extensive travelling can be curtailed. However, others differ in their opinion. This essay would argue between both the opinions and conclude with my opinion

On the one hand, replacing parks with apartment buildings will have certain benefits. The time taken by people to travel to their offices will be shortened. The office buildings are usually located in downtown areas of the cities. If people are living in urban outskirts, it is painstakingly time consuming for them to reach the offices. However, if community parks are replaced with apartment buildings, it would not only the travelling cost and time, but would also keep a person fit and fresh throughout the day and would be able to perform high pressure jobs with ease. In a recent survey conducted by Times of India Newspaper had mentioned in the editorial section that people living close to their office premises took lesser sick leaves as compared to people who lived at a distance from the workplace. So definitely living besides your workplace comes with a lot of benefit.

On the other hand, the replacement of leisure facilities with housing projects would have some drawbacks. Firstly, the denial of leisure facilities will result in making people’s lives sedentary. People need some time off in a verdant and playful place in their hectic routines. If parks and gardens are removed, they will lose great facilities where some time can be enjoyed alone or with the family. Secondly, the removal of gardens will cast a negative impact on our environment. Public parks and gardens usually have various plants and trees which are essential for our habitat. For example, Alibagh which was known for its green expanse, is of late undergoing a total obliteration drive by avaricious builders on account of cheap land for commercial or residential purposes. This kind of reckless cutting of trees and plants, is surely going to make it all the more for people to breathe in clean air as all people are aware that plants inhale carbon-dioxide and release oxygen and humans do need oxygen to survive.

In the conclusion, and in my opinion, parks and gardens are essential not only for leisure, but also for our survival. Although, replacing them would ensure less to travel, it would not be a wise decision to undertake considering that the repercussions would be worse.