As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Globalization means people are becoming more and more similar day by day. Mass Communication are capturing the eyeballs immensely towards them. These resources are making people aware of the events happening in outside world. In my opinion, globalization is not deteriorating the cultural identity of the people or generation.

Due to mass communication, people are showing interest not only in their cultures but in other cultures too. For instance, if we visit the famous pilgrimage, ’Mecca Medina’, people of different religions from all over the world visit over there. Using growing transport people reach to there and become part of their delightful enchanting called Azan. In Mecca, security department checks our passport, and if doesn’t belong to their religion then security ask us to enter into an area where people of different religion stand. From there, we can take blessing by worshipping the god.

Furthermore, we can consider Inter-Caste marriages. In past years, no one is allowed to do inter-caste marriage. People usually kill their children if they ask for inter-caste marriage. But today, people are getting aware of lots of mishaps which have happened earlier with the help of mass media. Mass Media has made people realize about all the deeds they have done which helped them increasing their patience, alertness, attentiveness and sensibility of understanding the difference between good and bad reality.

In compendium, to make people think within the broader spectrum and avoid differentiation, globalization is mandatory. Mass media helped people to wear same clothes or we can say clothes of trendsetting fashion. And, transport only helped to reach to different places easily. Other than this, improvement in globalization, made people knowledgeable and an enhanced sense of responsibility within them.