Medical services should be run by profit-making company. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is obvious that the development of technologies and economic has advanced the field of medical services. Some argue that people should receive health services from profit-making companies. Personally speaking, although for-profit medical companies may provide better quality services, it brings no benefit for justice in society if profits rule in the field of healthcare.

Healthcare provided by profit-making companies is renowned for its reputation in high-quality services and advanced equipment. With more capital and budget, business-driven medical organizations can invest more in the medical tools and upgrading their technology system, resulting in decent and efficient quality of services. Under this circumstance, clients are able to receive top medical practices from the finest medical professionals, which leads to a higher satisfaction rate for profit-making agencies and better medical care of the public.

However, racial and income disparities in society may prevent low-income families from receiving medical support from for-profit companies. With the increasing number of the for-profit medical organizations, it would inevitably decrease the availability of health care for marginalized populations as their priority is earning profits than taking care of people in need. For instance, a homeless person who has limited budget will be turned away from receiving medical services due to lack of insurance, which may worsen their current situation by not receiving medical cares from the agencies that require insurance.

Furthermore, society has the obligation to support everyone’s basic needs rather than rely on aid from profit-making companies. While profit-making companies gain high revenue and cutting-edge technology to support their services, they put the burden of those “unprofitable” patients to non-profit organizations and public hospitals. Under this circumstance, the government should support low-income families in the community by supporting local organizations to build quality medical clinics under more economical budgets.

In conclusion, although profit-making companies would provide advanced medical services, it could bring harm to certain populations and cause more problems. A structured society ought to stimulate non-profit organizations in providing low-cost medical services to reduce inequality in medical services.