Modern medical science has made it possible to combat many diseases. This is one reason that people are living longer lives bow than they did in the past. Discuss the effects this might have on society.

In this modern age, advances in the medical field have made possible to eradicate many diseases, prolonging life expectancy. At the same time, these medical achievements have affected the society. Not only has the distribution of national budget changed, but also there has been an increase in the demand for medical assistance.

National budgets have been redistributed in order to attend the needs of the elderly population. Take the case of the European countries, where the elderly population exceeds the young, as result a considerable part of their budget is allocated to pensions, social secure and hospitals. Subsequently, there are fewer founds for the areas of education and investigation. Thus, the fact that medical advances have made possible to prolong life expectancy, somehow has adversely affected the economy of many countries.

Another effect is the need for elderly medical care. Currently there is a shortage of doctors and nurses across the globe since the elderly population has grown up. Moreover, elderly population requires much more medical care, such as, organ transplant, dialysis, vitamins and the like, since the human body can not function properly by itself with the past of time. Therefore, people rely more than ever in medical treatments and indeed a better public health system.

All thins considered, it could be stated that state-of-art technology applied in the medicine field has made possible to prolong life-expectancy, which has lead to changes in society. Some of the effects have been the generation of economic expenses, affecting the national budget, as well as the increase in the demand for medical services. It seems that if proper measures are not taken the society could be adversely affected in the future.