More and more colleges and universities are offering courses via distance learning Distance learning has many benefits but there are also drawbacks and not every learner will be suited to this mode of study To what extent do you agree or disagree

The educational institutions these days have adapted to the distance mode of learning and this count is increasing day-by-day. While this system of learning has its own advantages, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages. This essay will discuss both the views but will incline towards the fact as to why distance learning is not preferable when compared to the mainstream classroom learning.

First and foremost, it is often argued that the distance mode of learning can be pursued by the people who are currently working. They can study the course of their choice on a part-time basis during the weekends and can look after their families. In addition to this, distance mode of learning also saves the time, since the books and materials these days are available online. Listening to the lectures are not really necessary with self-mode of learning.

While the above statements seem to be plausible, the following demerits the distance mode of education. There is no direct student-teacher interaction here which makes it difficult to get the doubts clarified at the instance. We have to wait for the upcoming class or visit the campus again to get the doubts resolved. Secondly, conducting the exams with distance education is tougher. There is a higher probability of cheating with online exams. In addition to this, students will miss the practical exposure and a study environment with this kind of learning. It is difficult to differentiate between the personal life and the education pursued.

In light of the above facts, although there are few advantages that come up with the distance education, the number of disadvantages seems to be more. So, in this competitive world it is definitely better if someone can prefer to go in person to the classes rather attending the distance lectures.