More and more colleges and universities are offering courses via distance learning Distance learning has many benefits but there are also drawbacks and not every learner will be suited to this mode of study To what extent do you agree or disagree

The educational institutions these days have adapted to the distance mode of learning, and this number is increasing day by day. While this system of learning has its advantages, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages. This essay will discuss both views but will incline toward the fact that distance learning is not preferable when compared to mainstream classroom learning.

First and foremost, it is often argued that the distance mode of learning can be pursued by people who are currently working. They can study the course of their choice on a part-time basis during the weekends and can look after their families. In addition to this, the distance mode of learning also saves time since the books and materials these days are available online. Listening to the lectures is not necessary with the self-mode of learning.

While the above statements seem to be plausible, the following demerits the distance mode of education. There is no direct student-teacher interaction here, which makes it difficult to get the doubts clarified at the moment. We have to wait for the upcoming class or visit the campus again to get the doubts resolved. Secondly, conducting the exams with distance education is tougher. There is a higher probability of cheating with online exams. In addition to this, students will miss the practical exposure and the study environment that comes with this kind of learning. It is difficult to differentiate between personal life and the education pursued.

In light of the above facts, although there are a few advantages that come with distance education, the number of disadvantages seems to be greater. So, in this competitive world, it is better if someone can prefer to go in person to the classes rather than attending the distance lectures.