More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or remotely rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

An increasing number of companies let their workers to work remotely instead of working from an office every day. In my opinion, the merits of this type of arrangement outweighs the drawbacks.

Firstly, some people do not work well in a tensed environment. Constant work pressure and monitoring from supervisors gets them agitated. Such people would function well and would be much more productive in a more relaxed environment. For illustration, I once had a colleague that could not do any tangible work at the office. However, if he took that same task home he would come back the next day with reasonable work. What he could not achieve in 12 hours at work he would accomplish in less than 6 hours at home.

Also working remotely helps to create a balance between work and family. A lot of these workers, work so hard and do not make enough time for their families. In other words, an employee should be able to find a balance between work and family. For illustration, I had to resign from my last job because, my brother got sick and I had to take proper care of him. If I was allowed to work remotely, I would not have resigned.I would have been able to joggle between work and looking after my brother.

One disadvantage of working from home is that it encourages laziness in some employees. Some workers are not purpose driven and need to be constantly monitored before they can do their jobs properly.

In conclusion, working remotely allows for flexibility and harnesses maximum productivity in workers to mention a few. Most companies should adopt the system of letting their employees do their jobs from home.