More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Obesity is a rising concern for today’s fast pace world which need to be addressed on utmost priority. Although a section of people believe that imposing high price on fast food will solve the problem, many people believe that a numerous ways are possible to tackle this major concern. I will scrutinize both the aspects before forming an opinion at the end.

To embark on, because of our food bad habits, people are putting more weight day-by-day. At young age, people do not realize the severity of excess body weight. However, once they cross 40, people start realizing the issue of overweight as they are suffering from many diseases such as diabetes, joint pain and heart attack. Many people support the idea of increasing price on fatty foods, as this will discourage people not to purchase any oily foods.

However, many people argue that food consumption is nothing related to price. If a person is fond of particular cuisine whether it is fatty or healthy, he/she will definitely purchase. Temptation of people cannot be stopped by rising price. Many solutions are available to manage this issue in our society. Firstly, government and NGOs must run awareness program on merits of healthy food habits and demerits of fatty food consumption. Secondly, adverts on oily foods are quite attracting and it has normally tempted the youth first. Government must impose restriction on such misleading adverts. Moreover, none of fatty food sellers displays the calorie on their food products. Juveniles always believe that these foods are also healthy as they contain all required ingredient for their good health. Lastly, all people must change their food habits on their own will power. Because efforts from government and NGOs to spread awareness will not be fruitful if people do not follow the recommendation. This change in the society can be made possible only if we are determine enough to replace our fatty food with healthy items.

To recapitulate, high pricing, steps from governments and NGOs to spread benefits of healthy food will be effective for a society, if each and every person is not willing to participate in the healthy food habit journey.