Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Waste recycle is a major issue for all nations. Many people believe that recycling of waste generated form household is less, and stringent laws are only solution for state administrators to control it. However, I do not accord with this notion as there are several ways to manage household waste recycling.

To embark on, damping fields are getting filled with wastes produced from homes, industries and offices. It becomes a serious concern for society to curb waste generation, and there are several solutions. Firstly, government must enhance the waste segregation methods initially. For instance, every home must have separate bins for biodegradable and non-biodegradable bins for their waste. Secondly, if government make people aware of environmental demerits caused by household waste, people will avoid to produce waste as much as possible. To illustrate, campaigns and adverts on wastage help a community to know their contribution to pollution and effect on future generation. When government can touch people's soul through speeches and ads, people will significantly put their effort to make things better. Lastly, these days, various portable waste recycling machines are available in the market. If government provide subsidy on these machines, people will definitely purchase. Moreover, outputs of recycling machines are in the form of fertilizers, which can be used in gardens or can be sale off to farmers, which is win-win situation for both parties- household and farmers.

However, strict laws to manage household waste are also necessary. No one can guarantee that every person will follow government initiatives such as waste segregations, recycle machine installation. There are few people who know the language of force implementation only. Hence, strict laws are mandatary to sustain the system established by heads of the states.

To sum up, although legal enforcements are necessary to manage waste recycle, other initiatives are also required to have a sustainable society.