More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Do this development has more advantages over disadvantages?

Globalization and advancement in the technology have modified the structure of today's society. There is no doubt that many countries have benefitted by these developmental changes. One such noticeble change is the food habits among individuals, especially the younger generation. Readily available food is gaining its popularity over freshly cooked home food. This development is good or bad for health is a question of debate.

In today's era, most of the people live a mechanical life; from home to work and work to home. Majority of these working professionals work for long hours and do not get time to look after themselves. In such a scenario, ready-made food is the best option, as it is easily available and is hassle free. Additionally, this food also looks appealing as well as tempting for the consumers, because of the food color and added preservatives. There is no preparation involved for consuming ready-made food, whereas cooking food requires other tasks like chopping and blending.

However, even ready-made food that seems to be so appealing has some disadvantages. Most of the vendors or the restaurants, use harmful preservatives to store their food for longer duration which are bad for human health. Additionally, the obesity rates are increasing rapidly, due to the consumption of such food items. Freshly cooked food have nutrients in them, that are very essential for our health and body.

To summarize, ready-made food is undoubtedly an easy option for many of the working professionals, but it is at the cause of their health. An individual must be aware of the harmful effects of such food and try to reduce its intake.