All the people in a company should be treated equally and provided with the same number of holidays in a year or people doing different jobs enjoy different amount of holiday time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many employees have complaints regarding the differentiation in the amount of holidays that people receives, even though they are working for the same company. Some folks feel that everyone must get similar amount of holidays and should be treated equally. In my opinion, I do not agree with this fact and feel each department have different responsibilities and pressures, accordingly their holidays should also vary. In the following paragraphs, I will try to elaborate my viewpoint.

If we take into consideration an example of an institute like a School, wherein one finds various professionals working under the same roof, for instance; the teachers, an IT expert, the Human resource people, the administrators, the receptionists, the helpers and the cleaners. In such a scenario, everyone’s tasks are different, a teacher's prime objective is to teach the students, in their absence or during the holidays (weekend, summer break, etc.), he or she is not required to be in the premises.

However, this is not the case with the other employees working in the school, like the Human resource department or the Admin faculty. Their work is not affected by the availability of the students in the school, as they mainly do the back office work.

Even though I do agree, that holidays must be given in accordance to the kind of jobs that people engage in, but at the same time there should be some consideration taken into account by the authorities when deciding on the days off for the employees. For example, as previously mentioned, in a school environment even cleaners and helpers have the right to get off from work during the summer or the winter breaks. The management should try to find out a solution that could keep everyone happy and be beneficial for the overall staff.