More and more people wear fashionable clothes Is this positive or negative development

Evidence suggests that a growing number of people tend to wear fashionable clothes. However, some assert that this attitude plays an important role in their socio-economic lives. Admittedly, I believe that being stylish could be a negative development owing to some compelling reasons.

To begin with, the most rational justification is that, to keep up with fashion creates unnecessary needs for people. The more people tend to wear trendy clothes the more boost consumerism and take tolls on the environment. Take individuals who wear new brand dresses every session as an example. They spend lots of their money to purchase dresses and accessories which are consumed a huge amount of resources to create them. To put it differently, numerous trees are felled annually to produce textiles which have an adversely affects on the environment. Moreover, people expense too much time and money to be up to date with modes which can be used in other beneficial activities such as learning new skills or developing their knowledge in their profession.

Yet another compelling argument against being more stylish is cultural degradation. Simply put, against the values and norms of a community, some fashions debase the costumes and cultures. A good illustration could be Asian teenagers who follow foreign actresses' lifestyles who are mostly progressive in the fashion world. This in turn will lead to westernization and cause the aboriginal traditions to be forgotten gradually. It also increases the importing industry owing to peoples' demanding for new foreign trends which could be a heavy burden on a country's economy and declines sustainable development growth.

To sum up, considering the points discussed above, the most rational conclusion to be drawn is that keeping up with fashion is more problematic for society. This is mainly because it puts the environment, economy, culture in jeopardy.