More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries.

Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the rate of obesity amongst young generation has increased alarmingly. Many well-developed nations, especially, are concerned about this issue. Although there many reasons to it, in this essay, I am going to discuss some of the major reasons such as increase in trends of fast-food culture and lack of time by parents. In addition to this, we will discuss some effects that has been noticed because of this.

There can be many explanations as why the risk of obesity is high in developed nations. First of all, in many advanced countries, parents often do not have time to prepare meal at home. This is because, most parents are working in odd and longer shifts. As a consequence, many adolescents are eating packaged food from the super-market. To illustrate this, in recent findings, American youngsters who are dealing with the obesity problems found that consumptions of pre-packaged meal are common amongst those children. While these meals may seems healthy and time-efficient, but they contains wide range of additives to improve shelve-life of the products.

On the other hand, the trend of fast-food within children is increasing globally. In many nations, the business of fast-food industy is booming. As these foods are tempting and addictive, many youngsters have replaced major meals of the day by junk foods. This caused an epidemic situation where young generations are facing issues such as obesity and high blood pressure in such an early age. For instance, in western countries, many fast-food franchises can be found doing well in their businesses and consequently health index of these countries are going down rapidly. If such practices will not stop, then it might also cause the drop down in average life expectancy.

To conclude, I would say that the lack of time by parents and the booming fast-food industries are the main reasons to blame for the problems of obesity withing youngsters and strong actions needed to be taken before the situation worsen.