In most of the countries people prefer to rent their homes rather buying them.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting home?

Nowadays, it has become an emerging trend to see people renting a house instead of buying. As it’s very expensive to buy a house in metro cities, whereas renting is more economical option for middle class and students. I believe that renting a house might be beneficial in short term however it has long term drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several advantages of living in rented property. Firstly, it is easy, flexible and less expensive option as you don’t need to make a huge payment at a time as well as you are not liable to pay taxes and yearly maintenance. For example, students prefer to rent a house on a sharing basis as it help them to mitigate their expenses. Secondly, if you rent a house you relocate based on the location near to their workplace or children’s school. In fact, in some cases people tend to relocate when they face difficulties with neighbors.

On the other hand, despite of several advantages there are some drawbacks as well. Firstly, buying a house is always considered as a personal achievement, also it is permanent asset. It can be considered as long-term investment because you can get good returns by renting it or selling it in later stage. Secondly, people feel more freedom to live their life in their own houses as there is no restrictions of landlords. By this I mean, some landlords do impose strange laws for tenants. such as; no keeping pets in the house, tenants are not allowed to hold loud parties, even one cannot renovate or redecorate their house based on what they like.

In conclusion, In-spite of the benefits that rented house offers such as cost efficiency and convenience, buying a house has its own distinctive advantages. Therefore, I believe that people can decide it based on their circumstances and limitation of budget.