Nowadays people are buying many things even though they don’t really need them.

Why it is happening in your opinion. Is it negative or positive trend?

It is matter of concern that in present days individuals are buying things which they don’t really require. I believe, that this emerging trend is because companies uses different marketing strategies and provide easy payment options for consumers. There are several drawbacks associated with such lavish shopping.

I firmly believe that advertisements and easy payments options pays crucial role to attract customers. Firstly, companies are using various marketing strategies to stimulate consumers. They not only use celebrities but also famous personalities to captivate buyers, as people consider them epitome of fashion and trend they incline to buy these products. Secondly, due to the technology advancement making payments are made easy and affordable for customers. EMI and credit card payment options make things more accessible for customers, people can procure items even if they are beyond their purchasing power.

The recent trend of buying unwanted items surely have some serious adverse impact on consumers. Firstly, the desire of buying unnecessary things increases financial burden on buyers and surge in crime rates. One major drawback is the liability of repay the enormous debts generated by extra shopping using credit card as well as EMI facilities. If customer fails to re-pay the payment due to money crunch, the banks and companies recover the money from defaulters by sieging the product, thus it causes lot of mental stress. Another negative aspect is that owing to the craze to attain latest electronic gadgets as well as fashion accessories, youngsters indulge in anti-social activities to find the source of money to buy these merchandises.

In conclusion, though various reasons have caused recent increase in excessive shopping by people, I believe this is a negative development, since it not only overburdens the customers with loans and debts but also forces teenagers into illegal activities. It is suggested that ads particularly attracting adults and teenagers should be banned.