Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree?

Undoubtedly, today, traffic is one of the intrinsic issues in major cities, which needs to be handled at priority to avoid its harmful consequences like, accidents. Although many people believe that introducing a strong law enforcement or strict disciplinary action can reduce traffic violations, however, I believe, combining strict rule implication with other methods can give the desired results.

Introducing the fear of punishment like imprisonment, higher penalty or cancellation of driving license in civilians can cultivate a good habit of following the traffic rules, so they do not have to face the penalties of rule breaking. For example, In Mumbai, a city of India, there was almost 50% decrease in the traffic violation after doubling the cost of penalty charges. This fact proves that strict disciplinary action can lessen the traffic violation.

Moreover, there are other ways which can make traffic controlling efficient, first, creating awareness in the people by organizing multiple campaigns, which inform them about the worse impact of traffic offenses, How following traffic rule can save their and others life, and also about the people who get impacted by it. This type of awareness can help people to understand the actual value of rules and will encourage them to follow it. Secondly, Government needs to implement the strict law while allocating driving license and it should be given after taking an appropriate practical test and looking into previous records in case of renewal. Because in many developing country people take advantage of corruption to get the license without giving the exam. Finally, to avoid long congestion and in hurry to reach the destination in short time, is the main reason behind people breaking the law. Thus, the government should construct the new roadways in urban areas, as proper traffic management is essential in those sections. Although, these are slow ways, but definitely give impressive results in traffic control.

It can be concluded from above clarification, that better results can be obtained in reducing traffic offenses by implementing strict law enforcement with other methods in many countries.