Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what are solutions?

It is clear that using motorways is a convenient way for the long-distance traveling, yet whether motorways bestow a net benefit has become a subject of debatable topics in recent years because of its impacts on societies. Although the problems associated with this trend can be pronounced, they are not without solutions.

There are some problems caused by motorways. First, the major problem is that it causes some negative impacts on environment. For instance, building the motorways might cause some places, especially forests, to be damaged, which is a detrimental impact to the environment and makes the global warming is worse due to the increasing of amount of carbon dioxide emitted to the environment. Second, human life is also significantly affected by this kind of road. In fact, the proportion of injuries, especially dead injuries, in the motorways is higher than it is in city routes since the speed limit in this kind of road is usually high, which makes these accidents become more serious and be involved by many vehicles and leads to increase the dead in number.

Nevertheless, there have been many good solutions to deal with this situation. First, building the friendly environmental routes is the great way to protect our environment from impacts of motorways. For example, in some countries by either building the motorways through the areas where have no plants and trees or putting some sections that must go across the green areas in tunnels, the environment is protected while human is still able to get benefits from motorways. Second, governments are also able to contribute to resolving these problems. Actually, by restricting the speed limit of every vehicle in the controlled-access highways and strictly penalizing the drivers who violated the speed limit rule, this situation is definitely improved as the number of accidents are certainly reduced.

In conclusion, even this phenomenon causes the severe impacts on societies, there are various ways to make it better. By working closely together, the whole communities can take all advantages of motorways in the foreseeable future.