Some people think that more money should be spent on protecting endangered species while others think it is a waste of valuable money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is clear that funding on wild life conservation projects is a subject of extremely debatable topic in recent years because of their effects on human lives. Although some claim threatened species’ lives are not valuable for a huge amount of funding, their extinction definitely affects to our lives as they play a fundamental role in our ecosystem.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why should not spend more money on protecting endangered species. For one reason, extinction process would happen with or without human effects since it is periodically natural process. In fact, as the last extinctions that wiped out all kind of species over the world, including dinosaurs, happened with no human effects, spending time and money on preventing natural disappearance process is totally meaningless. Another reason is funding too much on protecting wild animals negatively impacts to societies. For instance, protecting endangered species comes at the expense of solving human problems especially famines, since it requires a massive amount of money and time while human-related issues are more important.

On the other hand, preserving endangered species is definitely worthwhile thanks to their positive effects on our daily basis. First, conserving biodiversity by protecting these all kinds of species, which ensures human food supply. For example, majority of animals are the irreplaceable factors that are integral to some ecological services, such as pollination and mitigation floods or droughts, which helps to maintain the productivity of agriculture. Second, some plants bestow many benefits with medicinal properties. This means that some health problems, like diseases and cancers, cannot be cured due to lacking of some ingredients used to produce the medicine.

In conclusion, some believe that spending money for saving nearing extinct species is totally unapproved while there are many imperative issues need to be funded, protecting these species is significantly meaningful. By maintaining a healthy ecosystem, standard living conditions could be improved, which contributes to diminishing social problems.