Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Museums and art galleries have long been at the forefront of maintaining and reflecting cultural values and narratives that have been used throughout the years by almost all nations. Many citizens, though, agree that the museum will focus primarily on regional history and art, however, some think that they should display global culture and works of art as well. In this essay we will discuss and give reasons as to why museums and art galleries should display both local and international history and art?

Many denizens believe that there should be a local museum that honors the historical value of the country where it is located, as this will create a sense of patriotism among the people through historical objects that show the period of glory and struggle of their predecessors. Moreover, museums can also maintain regional customs and culture, since ancient designs, clothes and objects that are becoming outdated in the modern world can now be preserved behind the glass.

On the contrary, museums that display art and history from the other part of the world, they would demonstrate multiculturalism and enable people to gain global knowledge, thus not limiting with in the domestic borders. For instance, the Vatican museums exhibits the art and artefacts of several European countries allowing visitors to gain knowledge of distinct nations under one roof. Furthermore, museums often help people understand important international issues, as many foreign exhibits are shown on political issues.

To conclude, I strongly agree that the museums should put on show culture, heritage and objects of several nations as this will not only promote multiculturalism and improve diversity, but will also boost people's overall understanding.