n many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In these recent years, oceanic life, as well as other animals are in danger due to the heavy usage of plastic bags in the modern countries. Therefore, it is necessary to ban the usage of plastic bags in the daily usage activities. In this, we will discuss the effects of plastic usage and methods to minimize the usage of the plastic.

Firstly, due to the industrial revolution, usage of plastic is made is inevitable due to the cost of plastic bags is less compared to the other biodegradable or reusable. This economical difference had a huge impact on the overall usage of the plastic bags in the present scenario. Due to this significant usage, the remnants of plastics are collected in oceans and wastelands leads to the pollution of water and air. For example, according to the report of National Geographical channel, the pollution in the Hindu pacific ocean is due to the accumulation of the plastics in the ocean. This waste is dumped by the passenger ships and transport ships.

Secondly, the plastic material which is accumulated is not degradable by the environment. This accumulation leads to the decrease in the aquatic life and other living organisms. The aquatic life like fish, penguins, dolphins and other animals consumes this plastic material by thinking of food materials. After ingestion of the plastic, they are unable to digest the swallowed, subsequently leads to the death of the animals. According to the report of World Oceanic life studies, 60% of the death of aquatic life is due to the presence of plastic materials in the oceans and land.

To conclude with, the government should ban the usage and production of the plastic bags by encouraging the use of eco-friendly bags.