News Media is more influential nowadays and some people think it is a negative development. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the news media plays an important active role in our society, this means of communication has various impacts on the public, both in negative and positive ways. However, there are some perspectives against the news media. It is claimed to have bad influences on the way people live today. I strongly agree with some points of view about how the news media drives people’s mind.

The popular claim about the coverage of the news is that it can easily be benefited by anyone with bad purposes. There are many ways to approach the news media through daily paper, television, radio and so forth, on top of all is the Internet. As this worldwide net can easily be accessed by anyone, people can post or read any pieces of information without authenticating them. Unfortunately, bad news travels fast, people somehow believe these groundless biases, and sometimes use it to against genuine sources. Recently, there is a wave of Anti-vaccine which supposed to be originated from the internet, for example. This trend has spread out fears and doubts the government’s health service among parents and has caused a burden to medicine. However, by reading selective sources of news and having administration from the government, one community can protect itself from anonymous news.

On the other hand, the vital role of the news media is undisputed. With its fast and wide characters, the media can quickly deliver messages to citizens in a short period. It is a hugely helpful tool for our society where numerous changes and advanced developments are happening in anytime. People have the way to access newscast easily, they update and enhance social knowledge to connect and catch up with today’s world. In addition, the news media is where people’s voice can be heard, they can express their perspectives about a particular topic to make a better community. As long as they aren’t distracted by the fake information, the news media is still for good common purpose as it was born.

In conclusion, there are always two sides to a story. The news media contribute good value to society if we can control and evaluate well what we read in a day. However, it can be taken advantages for evil purposes if we let it be.