Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?
In modern era, the essence of time management has lost its glory. People have started believing that
a greater number of hours, they put in their respective job or work would lead to fulfilment of their
life goals. And thus, the importance of living a happy life by the way of indulging in leisure activities
has been given away. For livelihood, every human is required to work but this shouldn’t be at the
cost of letting away the activities which makes one feel light and happier.
‘Work is life and life is work’ holds truth for many people, specifically the ones who get to follow
their passion and enter into the same professional field, which also become a source of their
income. For them happiness is attained by the way of performing their jobs, this not only make them
feel satiable, but also provide an edge over the general public in terms of overall success, financial
stability and high standard of living. One of the best-selling book ‘Ekigai’ revolves around the term
‘Ekigai’ which means ‘the purpose of life’, the book very well explains that the people live a longer,
happier and successful life, only if they follow a profession, work or job which gives them immense
pleasure and satisfaction.
But for general public, the case may not be the same and in order to live their lives and earn
handsomely, they are bound to put in more long hours and let-go the leisure activities which brings
peace, calmness and pleasure to cope up with their stressful lives. Over the period, this really would
hampers their health and they end up suffering from various medical issue like stress, depression,
anxiousness which further lead to life threatening diseases like Blood pressure, diabetes,
cardiovascular and neuro functional issues.
To recapitulate, time management is significant in human life, thus people should take out time for
performing activities that brings relaxation and happiness, which further could add up to their
productivity levels at work.