a. Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, it is commonly thought that animal tests can place a great value on healthcare and human safety. However, many people possibly argue that testing on animals tends to exert massive pressure on both mental and physical animal health. I support the view that tested animals can become vulnerable and stressed after being researched.

On the one hand, there are several benefits that humans get from animal testing. Firstly, the major advantage is that it is probably better for animals to suffer than for humans to die. That is to say, in some unfortunate cases, the use of new drugs containing live attenuated viruses can pose a severe threat if someone is weakened by illness with an unfavorable immune system, especially the elderly or children whose bodies tend to be unable to restrict the impact of viruses and being attacked seriously by them. Therefore, thanks to animals, many people get rid of being infected with viruses or bacteria from new drugs and effectively enhance human safety. Secondly, animals are used in tons of science research, leading to new treatments that can save millions of lives. To be precise, animal testing can not only impose the risk of suffering endangered viruses but also boost opportunities of figuring out a large number of vaccines or pills being verified through them.

On the other hand, it is mainly believed that testing on animal bodies can have detrimental effects on their normal life. That is mainly because animals frequently suffer extreme pains, leading to many of them being killed during testing and humans have no right to conduct experiments on animals. Having said that, animals being captured in cages coming to the laboratory are injected with new drugs and researchers just focus on the statistics and the recorded numbers regardless of animal sickness or pains and in some situations, most of them can die of viruses or bacteria. It is notable that most people are careless and rash after doing experiments on animals and abandon them quickly when becoming totally useless.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that despite several advantages from doing animal’ tests, these acts should be banned and punished properly because the disadvantages present a danger to animal health both mentally and physically, resulting in morally wrong.