Nowadays in many families, the grandparents are responsible for bringing up children. Is it a good or bad development for grandparents? Give your own opinion and examples.

In today's contemporary era, with changing life styles, the roles of family members are changing. Owing to the hectic schedules of young couples, their children are mostly looked after by the older members of the family. Even though it seems quite relaxing trend at present, in my belief it would have numbers of harmful effect in the longer run for the aged people as they may face problems with their health at this age.

To begin with, such a trend is quite popular in my country due to various reasons, one of the major reasons from these is, lack of time and lots of burden on the younger generation. To elaborate, most of the married couples with children are burdened with sharing financial responsibilities and hence both of them are usually loaded with lot of work as well as constant mental and physical pressure, which make them unable to spare quality time with their children. In this scenario, grandparents are the best option in the family to take care of the children. This will not only help children grow better but will serve a purpose of a healthy and happy time killing activity for old age people too. Moreover, families which do not accept this trend are left with the only option of baby seater or quitting job by any of the parent, in both the cases rearing of children will ultimately suffer with numbers of consequents. So, in this viewpoint having grandparents to raise children is best for children and for themselves too.

However, another angle of the issue is; though grandparents are making efforts to help the parents in taking care of their kids, it is not good for them as they themselves also need a caretaker. Firstly, they are senior citizens and their age is also affecting their health. They usually need to visit the hospital for some or the other illnesses such as heart disease, high blood pressure, and others. Apart from this, at this age, they have already dedicated their whole life for family and this time should be for their own relaxation or enjoyment which must not be spoiled with extra burden of responsibilities. Moreover, it is difficult for them to handle young kids in helping them complete homework, letting them dress up properly for school and teaching any techy gadgets. Sometimes, children may be overpampered and become pervert or stubborn when their all demands are served, which is usually controlled by parents but quite easy and common with grandparents. Hence, looking from this side, considering the age, their rights to enjoyment and the way children are raised by grandparents, such a trend can be really harmful.

To recapitulate, I strongly feel grandparents ought to be given their enough part to enjoy their retire life at that age and must not be thrusted upon by any more extra responsibilities, instead parents need to be more calculative in managing time and work to look after their children, to make them competent enough for the latest world.