Nowadays, many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies, individuals or government?

Private firms have revolutionised research work in almost all verticals. Currently, private entity are pumping money on various medical research work. In my opinion, it must be a collaborative effort where government, private firm or individuals should work together in finding breakthrough in medical vertical. But government must have full control and knowledge of the research work being carried out. They must create law on its testing and pricing of their products.

To begin with, government does not have enough resources to aid all research work. All research work either performed by private firm or a person must be intimated to government and they must perform their research work within the boundaries of the law. They must submit their finding before testing their theory on live test subject either animal or human so that it can be ensured they are not hurting them for finding a cure. An article published in Medical Journal says that private companies violate protocols and quickly jumps to animal testing to find a solution which results in death of test subjects.

Additionally, price is a factor which must be governed by government. Private individual research patents their cure and sell their product at steep price when that product is in peak demand. Controlling price will ensure that medicines are available to people and they are treated in timely manner. Indian government, for example, has made a drive to promote ‘Generic Drugs’ which are affordable to masses and it is easily available even in remote places. Thereby, unprivileged section of the society gets proper medication without burning a hole in their pocket.

To my mind, research work should be allowed to private and individuals as well, but it should be under governments supervision. To summarize, government must make sure proper testing is being performed and prices are affordable for masses.