As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Since last century our dependence on fossil fuel has enhanced enormously. In developed nations people are aggressively purchasing vehicles and this trend is affecting our ecosystem. I do not support this trend as it releases a lot of pollutants in our atmosphere, but sometimes it has been observed that citizens have no other options, but to use them.

To begin with, there is no denying on the fact that in developed nations a lot of individuals rely on their personal vehicles rather than public transport for communication. Private vehicles are used by all for commutation and, only one individual is utilizing whole car for travel, this result in usage of car for each individual which release ton’s for toxic gases each day. These pollutants stay for over decades and act as a catalyst in enhancing temperature of earth. A study done by Texas university suggest that New York alone produces 20 Tons of hazardous carbon in a day from private vehicles and it is the main cause of global warming and rise in storm activities.

On the other hand, it has been observed that developed nation lack proper infrastructure that connect every nook and corner of the country. In order to solve commutation challenges people, must rely on their own cars. Additionally, those working in night shift has no other option, but to take their vehicles for transit. A study shows that Australia has good public transport network, but it is limited to key areas only. People travelling to distant places cannot depend on government transport.

To my mind, usage of personal vehicle adds a lot of harmful gases into atmosphere and it eventually has negative impact on our environment. To conclude, toxic released from automobiles leads to global warming and change in our ecosystem, but we cannot switch to public transport as it does not have proper end to end connectivity.