Some people think that advertising on TV is useful for viewers, while others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Adverts are indispensable part of every sales and marketing campaign. A sector of the society believes that airing of commercials on idiot box are beneficial whereas others suggest they are useless. In my opinion, it is like tow sides of the same coin in which it provides information on products and delivers social messages, while it certainly interrupts viewing experience when they are aired.

To begin with, there is no denying on the fact that commercials on television set delivers good information on currents trends. This helps in promoting a new product or scheme, which can be leveraged by consumers, without advertisement it becomes difficult for end user to be aware about them. Not only it assists in creating demand of a product, but advertisements help in delivering social messages to create awareness for a cause among masses. Repetitive telecast of adverts gives an ever-lasting impression on human mind. For instance, The Swatch Bharat Abhiyan (Clean India Drive) started by our Prime Minister Narendra Mode, is played regularly on Television channels, featuring a celebrity Amitabh Bachchan for catching attention of whole nation.

On the other hand, advertisements aired while watching TV, sometimes, ruins our viewing experience. Break’s within a serial, movie or news deviates our attention and it unnecessary adds suspense with a tag “What happens next” is very annoying. Additionally, advertisement becomes dull and boring once they have been watched as it loses the suspense quotient. For instance, an advertisement clip of a leading Shampoo brand loses its charm when it is played repeatedly as viewers knows what is coming next.

To my mind, they are good source of information on new products, beneficiary schemes or spreading social message as they are viewed on nationwide. To summarize, although commercials provide important information, but it also impedes our viewing experience.