Nowadays for many people, the internet is replacing regular books. What do you think will happen in the future and what is your opinion about this trend?

The Internet age has brought quintessential changes in our lives. Likewise, many opine of substituting paper-based education by digital libraries. In my opinion, there is a less likely chance of replacement of the physical form of literature in the coming future, though a noticeable inclination towards e-books and online studies shall be witnessed, regular books are bound to remain part of the curriculum.

To embark on, the readability of books still outstands its counterparts. Although one may have access to unlimited reading materials over the internet, the glare of the screen impedes the viewer's reading abilities after a while. For instance, a recent survey depicts that people who follow newspaper journal online are dangerously prone to temporary blindness as the blue light from the screen inflates the retina. Moreover, studying over the internet can incur procrastination as there is plenty of room to digress for the student.

Secondly, the Government cannot let the printing agencies go bankrupt. Because of the enormous economic hold of these companies in the market, digitizing everything can inflict huge job losses and shut down of profitable ventures. For instance, the Government had passed a motion for a phased manner reduction in paper printing in India which was capable of pulling out a sizeable population from the workforce. However, it escalated with a nationwide strike which made the government concede to its decision later. Although these industries are environmentally hazardous, they still cater to the needs of the people. Therefore, a viable alternative shall be thought of to cut its dependency on paper.

In the epilogue, adapting anything because of its popularity could be perilous. As people are free to make choices, we must carry out a debate before implementing a major change capable of affecting the fundamental structure of society.