Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

While science has played a major role in enhancing human understanding and technological advances throughout history, fewer students at the university level are opting to study science these days. In the following paragraphs, we would discuss several factors contributing to this sea of change in the trend along with the potential effects to be felt on human society.

In the modern setting, people value money and social status the most while they try to achieve both with minimum efforts. In order to get the aforementioned things, there are multiple options available as compared to 30-40 years back. Undoubtedly, many fields of work pay you handsomely these days. For example, an average lawyer or engineer would have a higher prospect to earn a better salary than a research scientist. Secondly, the efforts required to become a successful scientist seems to be far greater than becoming an engineer or business consultant. Consequently, students chose to do just a bachelor’s and master’s degree at most rather than additionally doing a Ph.D. and Post Doctorate before being able to get a job.

Due to fewer people showing interest in the scientific research field, the number of new breakthroughs in human knowledge along with innovations would stagnate. With advancements in technology, the challenges and risks we face are also changing which require completely new solutions. For instance, we are unable to contain or avoid a virus outbreak as far fewer people are involved in microbiology research than the travel industry which enables rapid movements of people around the world. Additionally, this trend poses a threat for future generations as the risks might become unmanageable for them. For example, as per research, climate change would be the major risk in near future and if not acted upon immediately, might become non-reversible.

Although the reasons for students going for other study areas seems logical and is solely an individual choice, we should be aware of the adverse effects it can have on society. The risks of ignoring this shift in trend are quite drastic and governments around the world should collaborate to come up with schemes to resolve the issue.